Photos courtesy of Guy Pool and Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers.

On Sunday, 14 Poole Wheelers raced Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers Hilly 42km TT.

The course was 2.5 laps, starting on Holme Lane, taking a left at Wool on the long draggy hill to Lulworth, then a fast descent / rollers back to Holme Lane –

The weather was nearly perfect, for what feels like the first time in 2024, we had bright spring sunshine β˜€οΈ What you can’t see from the photos was the Baltic northerly wind πŸ₯Ά. The joy of a tailwind up the hill soon turned into an exposed slog on the range roads back from East Lulworth.

Poole Wheelers had a strong showing at the top of the leaderboard. Winning the open TT category was Poole Wheeler / Speed Donuts’ Matt Stanbury. His time of 1:02:55 comfortably took the win and was fourth overall.

In the Open Road Bike category, Elliott Colyer πŸ† of Exeter University took the win with a course record and the first sub-1-hour time on the course, an official time of 59:12.

Two Poole Wheelers closely behind were the man with blistering early-season form Brett Wheeler πŸ₯ˆ and the ever-strong Tom Nancarrow πŸ₯‰, setting times of 1:01:09 and 1:01:25.

In the Women’s category, Poole Wheeler Bex Hughes narrowly beat Nicky McAlister to the quickest Poole Wheeler, setting a time of 1:25:10 and 1:25:30 respectively.

In the top 10 overall, 6 Poole Wheelers. Full report and race details on the CTT webpage –



1. Sien Van Der Plank (New Forest CC) Road Bike 1:12.35

2. Emma Caplan (Zoom Triathlon Club) Road Bike 1:16.47

3. Laura Daly (FTP Fulfil the Potential Race Team) Road Bike 1:16.57

4. Naomi Shinkins (Bournemouth Jubilee Wheelers) Road Bike 1:17.29

5. Rebecca Hughes (Poole Wheelers) Road Bike 1:25.10

6. Nicola McAlister (Poole Wheelers) Road Bike 1:25.30


1. Elliott Colyer (University of Exeter CC) Road Bike 59.12

2. Brett Wheeler (Poole Wheelers CC) Road Bike 1:01.09

3. Tom Nancarrow (Poole Wheelers CC) Road Bike 1:01.25

4. Matt Stanbury (Poole Wheelers CC) TT Bike 1:02.55

5. Howard Bayley (a3crg) Road Bike 1:03.16

6. Tim Flynn (Poole Wheelers) Road Bike 1:03.50

7. Alasdair Hitchen (Poole Wheelers) Road Bike 1:03.59

8. George Mahon (Poole Wheelers) Road Bike 1:04.07

9. Malcolm Cox (Velo Club St Raphael) Road Bike 1:04.59

10. James Horton (Wessex Road Club) Road Bike 1:06.23


About the Author: Tim Flynn