The National Youth and Junior Track Championships was run on Monday 24 July to Friday 28 July in Newport’s Geraint Thomas Velodrome of Wales, displaying the best young British talent on offer!

Day One

In the junior men’s sprint, Oliver Pettifer (Enhanced – formally part of Poole Wheelers) claimed the win after a brilliant battle with Will Munday (Glasgow Track Racing Team). Pettifer qualified fastest in a time of 10.482, while Munday was hot on his heels. Munday challenger Pettifer all the way to the line in the gold medal ride off, but the Enhanced rider proved to be the strongest, winning on both occassions. Third place went to fellow Enhanced rider Harry Radford after a fantastic battle for bronze against Isaac Small.


Day Four

William Munday (Glasgow Track Racing Club) was the winner of the junior men’s keirin on the penultimate day of the championships, adding to his sprint silver from day one of the championships. Munday was impressive throughout, winning all three of his races on the day, with Monday’s sprint champion Oliver Pettifer (Enhanced) taking silver and Isaac Small (Deeside Thistle CC) bronze.

Oliver Gill National Champion

Oliver Gill (Poole Wheelers CC) won a close-fought youth men’s points race on the very last sprint, with James Sweeney (Edinburgh RC) agonisingly close to the national title just two points behind. Gill and Sweeney were the only two riders to take a lap on the bunch during the race  and with double points up for grabs in the final sprint Gill proved strongest to take the maximum 10 points and the national title. Securing maximum points in the first three sprints was enough for Henry Hobbs (Welwyn Wheelers CC) to take bronze, adding to his scratch race victory from the opening day of the championships.


Well done everyone – absolutely cracking rides!


For full details, see below

Source ––Day-by-day-updates-0?fbclid=IwAR0DhPCpUVqkmVqXAvPCgZDI9Gt7acCRZ406auRnHtL3ZcMfb9Bhr2g-gh8

About the Author: Pete Watkins