Zwift WTRL Race Teams for Season 2

It seems we’ve got ourselves quite an online race team!
Ben Salvia, our team manager, has been busy building on our success from recent racing leagues on Zwift to build five teams which now have 32 riders and covers all race categories for the up and coming race series.
Season 2 of the World Tactical Racing League (WTRL) is starting on Tuesday 12th January, and with over 1500 teams registered from around the world (across 100 leagues), our riders can’t wait to start racing! The series includes five points-races and three team time trials (TTT). Racing every Tuesday evening, you’ll be sure to see some races being shared on our YouTube channel and also here on Facebook. Although racing in a world league, our teams have been placed in leagues where other local clubs (to Poole) are also taking part including Bath CC, RMACC, PDQ, Newbury Velo, Exeter Wheelers and North Devon Wheelers to name a few – BC will using the series to create a local league list of all the teams that fall into the UK Southern region too.
Race 1 – Richmond
The first race of an eight-race series is the UCI Worlds course (reverse direction). The route is a replica of the 2015 UCI Road World Championships course in Richmond, Virginia, USA. It was at this course where Peter Sagan famously attacked on 23rd Street to eventually win his first World Champs jersey. It’s a wonderful race course, with steep, attackable climbs in the first half and very flat and fast in the second half of the lap – there are two laps to complete resulting in 34km distance and 284m elevation.
Meet the teams
CAT-A – one of 66 teams in the EMEA W2 league
Captained by Ben Salvia, we have Ashley Newman, Lewis Stark, Tim Flynn, Brett Wheeler, Ade Murrey and Pat Atkinson
CAT-B – one of 103 teams in the EMEA E2 league
Captained by Sammy Perren, we have Noah Miller, Paul Axon Mason Bonner, Peter Short, Neil Gartland and Maurizio Borghi
CAT-C – one of 34 teams in the EMEA E2 league
Captained by Matt Colley, we have David Tilsed, Leighton Smith, Josh Naylor, Les Pick and Pete Watkins
CAT-D – one of 11 teams in the EMEA E1 league
Captained by Andy Petty, we have Sarah Inwood, Andy Richardson, Tim Morris, Scott Francis, Reg Holden and Jim Perren
CAT-D Ladies – one of 27 teams in the AMERICAS E1 league
Our Ladies only team captained by Suzy Watkins, we have Catherine Petty, Zoe Taylor, Emma Hanson, Jill Lewis, Sadie Mitchell and Helen Broadbridge
(EMEA = Europe, Middle East and Africa)
All teams are limited to six riders per race and must have at least three riders take part in all races (four for TTT). With all teams with at least six riders and team registration closed, if you are interested in cycle racing online we would love to hear from you as we can always can fill gaps where people can’t take part in a race for whatever reason (you don’t have to commit to all races).
Anyone thinking of virtual racing, get yourself on Zwift, RGT or any other virtual cycling platform, sign up to a Zwift Power account (you will need this to take part in most racing leagues) and give it a go!
There are other leagues on other platforms so, if you are racing in any events, it would be great to see what you’re doing and how you’re getting on! Search PWCC for all our Poole Wheelers on each platform and drop us a 👍 and follow!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.