Time Trials

Poole Wheelers actively participate in the local Time Trial circuit. For more information about how to get involved, contact our Time Trial Secretary: Craig Weston.

Poole Wheelers run our own Time Trial results service with club competition league tables. You can also keep an eye on Eammon Deane’s blog Local riders, Local races, which is the most frequently updated website with race results in the Dorset and South region.

Taking part in Poole Wheelers’ time trials

Entry fees for both club & open events will be £5.00 which pays for the clubs indemnity insurance, signage storage, signage erection & collection etc.

Rear lights and helmets are required for all riders, no excuses.

We the Committee hope this will help all riders wishing to take part in this year’s TT events to plan ahead, turn up to ride these events safe in the knowledge that marshals will be in place, that this will be fair for everyone, and that all riders over 18 will “do their bit” as far as marshalling is concerned.

Please email me if you have any queries regards Rachel  poolewheelersevents@gmail.com

Open TT events

Poole Wheelers have scheduled three Open time trial events for the 2017 season. These are scheduled for:

18/06/2017 Sun Poole Wheelers

Gary Dighton Memorial*

OPEN 10 P415 7.00
09/07/2017 Sun Poole Wheelers OPEN 10 P415 7.00
30/07/2017 Sun Poole Wheelers

Harold Cribb Memorial**

OPEN 25 P413 6.30

We will publish full details of these events and how to register in the spring.

You can access a provisional version of the full 2017 time trial calendar for the South District, which will be added to the events listing in due course.

* Gary Dighton (1968-2015) was a prolific cyclist and highly successful on the British time trial scene during the 1990s. In 1990 he won the British Best All-Rounder with an average speed of 26.216mph, he broke the competition record for the 25-mile time trial in 1991 with a time of 48.07, and rode in the team time trial at the Barcelona Olympics in 1992. He was a close friend of people in the club and joined Poole Wheelers in 2010 after a 12-year retirement.

** Harold Cribb (?-1988) joined the Poole Wheelers just after it was formed in the 1920s and remained a central figure in the club until his death in 1988. He was the club President during 1948-1949 and 1976-1986.

Marshall rota 2017

Again for 2017 we are putting together an official TT Marshals Rota.  We ask that all TT riders chose 3 events to marshal at throughout the season.

All you need to do is email me your first and second name along with your 3 chosen dates to marshal & I will keep the rota updated for you. secretary@poolewheelers.com


Red fields need marshals, fields go green when marshals are found. Orange fields are desirable but may not be essential.


Please give 72 hours notice if you can no longer marshal so a replacement can be found, and give an alternative date to marshal.

Please turn up ½ hour before race start when marshalling in order to be briefed as to rider numbers etc & provide the organiser with your mobile number

All marshals will need to be found before sign up can commence (includes forum pre sign on)

Please note riders under 18 years of age will not be expected to marshal but will need to nominate a parent or suitable adult to Marshal on their behalf.

Note: We are currently updating the marshal rota for the 2017 season and will publish details here soon.

Key courses we use