History of the club

Poole Wheelers was established on 10th November 1926, and is currently celebrating 90 years of existence!

Poole Wheelers are very lucky to have a detailed record of our early club history, in the form of Harold Cribb’s memoirs, which covers the period from the club’s formation on 10th November 1926 through to 1986, and a more recent history written to cover the 1990s and part of the 2000s.

We will update this page with a more complete hall of fame list in near future.

  • Bill Harvell – who competed in the Los Angeles Olympics in 1932 and won a Bronze medal in the 4000m team pursuit (read the full account on Marguerite Wilson – The First Star of Women’s Cycling website). He also finished 3rd in the 1934 British Empire Games 10 miles scratch, and fifth in the 1934 British Empire Games track time trial (full results).
  • Ernie Holmwood – who with Bill won the 1933 National Pursuit title at Herne Hill
  • Andy Sawyer – National Schoolboy Champion, 1974
  • Sybil Mayer – who became the first Ladies Association champion

Club Presidents

  • 1926-1943 L.E. James
  • 1944-1947 W.A. Dightam
  • 1948-1949 H. Cribb
  • 1950-1953 E.G. Speck
  • 1954-1955 A. Rothwell
  • 1956-1959 R.F. Russell
  • 1960-1964 J. Jefferies
  • 1965-1969 A. Smith
  • 1970-1971 R. Mills
  • 1972-1975 P. Beckley
  • 1976-1986 H. Cribb
  • 1987-2000 J. Jefferies
  • 2001-2014 C. Price
  • 2015-2017 Ros Spencer
  • 2018 – current: Graham Hurst